Lost in the 90’s.

July 28, 2008 at 11:17 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )


Are you excited about the Donnie Darko sequel being made, S. Darko? I am, I loved that film so much, I can’t even remember how many times I’ve watched it. The directors cut was good too, a bit more revealing. There are still a few questions I have though, but I won’t go into them right now.

So the new film is about Donnies sister, and it’s 7 years in the future in 1995. Interesting. Apparently Franks in there too but not many of the original cast. Oh well.

Can you remember what you were doing in 1995? I was at school, it was fun! Soundgarden were huge, so was Alice in chains and Pearljam. This was about the time that I started getting into Iron Maiden. UP THE IRONS!!!

This was also the year I saw S.F.W. on video! (what’s that??!!!) What an ‘alternative’ film that was. Actually at the time it was a pretty cool film. The Nineties seems like such a distant ear now that we’re almost at the end of the first 10 years of the NEW millenium. Wow, is that scary or what? The nineties was pretty fragmented and alot of angry music (that I love sincerely) got popular, like Nu Metal, Grunge, alternative, etc. And then the end of the millenium and we all thought the world was gonna end on new years 2000. What a load of shit!!!

I remember standing by the waterfront in Wellington, completely off my face with my friends, counting down to the end of the world. And it never came. I think we all breathed a sigh of relief. And the fireworks went off and it was just another new years. My gosh!

Well the nineties are long gone, but I think they were just as important as the eighties in terms of pop culture. All that awesome music. Now what do we have, endless rehashes of what what was. I mean ‘the Galvatrons’, whats that? Sounds like a Gary Glitter clone or something. Well I guess everything ends up being compared to something else. I should be so lucky.

Hopefully the world won’t end in 2012. I don’t think it will. I hear that we’ll reach a new stage in human evolution and ascend to a higher spiritual plane. Sounds good. So does the new sequel to Donnie Darko.

http://www.disinformation.com

azumuth.info

http://www.azumuth.com

http://www.myspace.com/azumuthmusic

http://www.trig.com/azumuth

http://www.reverbnation.com/azumuth

Leave a Reply

