Producing an album isn’t always easy, but it sure is fun!

July 14, 2008 at 11:19 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

Started work on a couple of demos today for the new EP today.  It’s funny, but learning how to produce your own records, you can see how it is for big time producers who have to coach a band through the whole recording process, nail down the tracks and then, with the band,  choose which ones are going on the album and which aren’t. 

Now for me, I’ve recorded a whole bunch of songs for my latest album, but now it’s going to be an album and an EP.  I had to think about it at first, (I don’t wanna give to much away here).  Anyways, I choose the songs which logically sounded like they should be together on an album, then took the others and they’re the ones that are going on the EP.  Then we have one album that has a particular sound to it, and an EP which has another sound to it, almost completely different to the album, and they kind of complement each other. 

Normally I’d stick all the tracks together and hope for the best.  Lighta and darkness, yin and yang etc etc.  But with this new album, I wanted to take out the light, and just have the darkness to see what that’s like.  I think it’s great idea!

So this is how it works in a band, recording, and the role of the producer.  Now normally the other tracks would be called ‘B-sides’, but thats not the case here.  These other tracks stand out as album tracks I think, and so I’m putting them together as an EP.  I’m very excited about all this.  The future is coming and it’s exciting!

http://www.azumuth.com

http://www.myspace.com/azumuthmusic

http://www.trig.com/azumuth

http://www.reverbnation.com/azumuth

Leave a Reply

