Cog gig review.

May 17, 2008 at 5:18 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I walked into the Palace the other night to see Cog. I’d seen them at the Ekka in Brisbane two years agoand they were okay, but with a new album to showcase it was a difficult one to call.
First of all I got there late and missed Jakob, which was a shame since I’d heard so much about theme. Oh well, I caught Kora and they were awesome, a real treat, the front man was amazing, so much confidence and a real performer. The music was difficult to gage on first listen but I was bobbing my head the whole time, so it must have been good. It also took me back to Wellington as well, ahhh.

After a short wait the lights went dim and Cog came on to John Farnham’s ‘You’re the Voice’, a good choice considering most of the lyrics on their new album. I must say that I wasn’t so keen on their new album as much as the last one. I don’t mean to sound like a hater but it really didn’t reach out and grab me as much as ‘The New Normal’. Maybe it’s just me but it doesn’t rock out as much as the first one, and the songs take a lot longer to really sink in. The vibe of the album is different as well, a good thing maybe, I don’t know?

Cog played without much of a hello or anything, and for most of the set the singer/guitarist barely moved. He did look pretty busy with his guitar though and his vocals were awesome: he didn’t miss a note as far as I could tell.

The music from the New Normal was awesome with songs ‘Resonate’ and ‘Real Life’ really moving the crowd. However I found the music from the new album to be a little lifeless and robotic. I had read that Cog play most all the new songs to a click track on a sampler which also plays all the backing vocals, guitars and strings. This makes the songs sound exactly like the CD which detracted from any organic feel the set may have had, a shame because this is what I like to see when I go to a band gig – a band rocking out and giving everything they’ve got to the crowd, I didn’t get that from this gig.
Sure the drummers amazing and the bassist bops around and the lights were awesome, but lack of energy and enthusiasm made it all seem a bit labored to me, a shame because I really loved ‘The New Normal’. The crowd really enjoyed it though and there was a bit of a mosh. Like I said, I don’t mean to be a hater and I have nothing but love and respect for the boys from Cog, but like my friend who was with me said; it always seems like Cog are up the front and the musics happening behind them somewhere. Strange analogy?

Here’s the setlist:

You’re the Voice – John Farnham intro

No other way

Bird of Feather

Resonate

Are you interested?

Four Walls

The Spine

Sharing Space

Real Life

The Movies Over

I’ve been waiting song

Swamp

Town of Lincoln

What If

My Enemy

Bitter Pills

http://www.myspace.com/azumuthmusic

http://www.azumuth.com

Leave a Reply

